Cancercare: A Champion for the cancer community

You have just been diagnosed with cancer.  Now, you have to think about cost.  How much will your Chemo be?  

My Husband and I faced this very situation, a little over 3 years ago.  Fortunately, the social worker at our cancer treatment center, told us about Cancercare.  

I was given the phone number; and made the phone call, in the next few days.  Two sets of paperwork were sent.  One set for us to complete; and one set for the Oncologist to complete.  Both were completed and sent in.  We were reviewed and accepted.  I would like to take this time to say, each case is reviewed individually; and, acceptance is not guaranteed.  But, if you are facing a huge bill with Chemo treatment, it is definitely worth the call; and doing some paperwork.  

I can say; we were not billed for one chemo treatment.  I received notification; how much longer, they were going to cover the cost.  The time was longer than I needed; so, I called them and told them the date of my last treatment.  

I don’t know what we would have done without them; and, I was so glad we were told to contact them.  I hope this information will help others, who are facing the same situation, we faced in 2011.     

Share Your Thoughts

